Belleville’s Heritage Committee will showcase close to 15 sites in the downtown core as part of the Doors Open Belleville event this Saturday.
Among the highlights are the city’s historical plaques, marking significant locations and events over the past 200 years, along with the usual Doors Open staples like Glanmore House, City Hall and the Chamber of Commerce’s log cabin.
Heritage Committee Chair Janna Colton tells Quinte News, new additions this year include the Shrine Club on Highland Avenue and Ekort Realty on Front Street, which used to be the Greenley’s Bookstore and has some interesting hidden features
Colton says there are many “hidden gems” throughout the city’s downtown core to be seen, including an interesting find behind the Cozy Grill, when it was purchased by Paul Dinkel.
She also hopes that showing off the downtown core will change some opinions.
Colton added that next year the committee may look at expanding the event to historical locations in Thurlow Ward and other parts of the city.
Doors Open runs from 10:00 a.m. to 4:00 p.m. on Saturday.
Here’s a full list of the locations taking part:
- 5 Moira Street East – Chamber of Commerce Log Cabin (1874)
- 394 Front Street – Fire Station No. 2 Plaque
- 224 Front Street – Great Belleville Floods Historical Plaque
- 258 Front Street – Ekort Realty (Former Greenley’s Books) (1824)
- Dundas and Front Parkette – Simpson’s Tavern Historial Plaque
- 169 Front Street – City Hall (1872-73)
- Across from City Hall – Bogart-Carman Building Historical Plaque
- 38-44 Bridge Street East – Dinkels Restaurant and Paulo’s Italian Trattoria (1870)
- 65 Bridge Street East – The Griffin Opera House Historical Plaque
- 210 Pinnacle Street – The Belleville Club (c. 1900)
- 210 Pinnacle Street – Pinnacle Street Railway Historical Plaque
- 254 Pinnacle Street – Belleville Public Library and Community Archives of Belleville and Hastings County
- 51 Highland Avenue – Belleville Shrine Club (1880)
- 93 Dundas Street East – Children’s Safety Village (2004)
- 257 Bridge Street East – Glanmore House National Historic Site (1883)